Thursday, 28 August 2014

The Things I'd Miss by Andrew Clover - Review by Kimmy

Hey all,

Did ya miss me?

I finally got my hectic schedule under control, so here is a review from a book I read back in July whilst on holidays:

The Things I'd Miss
by Andrew Clover

Published Date: 17th July 2014



Rating:

**Disclaimer - I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review**


Summary:

For fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Jojo Moyes. If you could go back and change anything in your past, what would it be? The new novel from the author of Learn Love in a Week

If you could change anything in your past, what would it be? 

If only things had been different, Lucy Potts, 43-year-old mother of two, would be married to Hugh Ashby - the man she loved and lost. Instead, she married his best friend, Simon.

And then a devastating car crash leaves her unconscious, and she finds herself revisiting the crucial moments in her past. But everything is slightly different. Suddenly, she is able to change all the things she's always wished she'd done differently.

But by concentrating on her past, she is forgetting about all the things she would miss in the present, and as she comes round, she makes a devastating discovery.


Review:

The lovely Philippa Cotton at Cornerstone, Random House UK sent me this book to read and review.  I had requested the book after reading the synopsis.  It just drew me in straight away.  We all think to ourselves now and again 'If only I could go back and change this or that!' so I couldn't turn down the opportunity to read and review of this book.

I started reading the book the day before we were to leave to go on holidays.  I didn't really get far into it, short lunch break and last minute packing granted me no more than 10 or so pages.  So I began to read it on our journey the next day.  I was instantly hooked.  I remember sitting in the front passenger seat of our jeep, tears streaming down my face and my husband saying "Maybe you should take a break from reading that book."  I took his advice.  But after a short while, I couldn't put it off any longer and had to read more and find out what was going to happen next.

I loved this book, a beautifully written story that proves to us that some things are just meant to be and if you spend too much time reflecting on what could have been, you are going to miss out on what is here now and right in front of you.

So go get this book, it will not leave you disappointed.  Oh and make sure you have your tissues at hand!

Congratulations to Andrew Clover, may you have many future successes!

Useful Links

Post a Comment