Tuesday, 27 October 2015

Blitz w/ Giveaway & Excerpt: TROLL by Ashley Harris

Seductive teens & trolls meet #Gameofthrones! 

Get ready for a rollicking action and adventure story set in a magical world where a creature emerges from thousands of miles underground, seeking revenge, treasure, and a key that once belonged to an old enemy. Fans of the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis and The Vampire Diaries  by J. L. Smith will be enchanted by this new YA novel selected by Kindle Scout readers for publication!

Follow the blitz and enter to win great prizes! 

Visit all the blogs participating in the blitz for more chances to win! 

October 26th
Brooke Blogs Author Interview 
My Midnight Fantasies Spotlight + Excerpt
Reading In Wonderland Spotlight + Excerpt
T&L Book Reviews Review + Guest Post

October 27th
Deal Sharing Aunt Author Interview
Opinionated Cupcakes Spotlight + Excerpt
Just Books & Rainne's Ramblings Author Interview

October 28th
Nicole's Book Musings Spotlight + Excerpt
Mama Reads Hazel Sleeps Review + Guest Post
Becky on Books Spotlight + Excerpt
Kindle and Me Review + Guest Post
Book Briefs Review

October 29th
Oh My Growing TBR Spotlight + Excerpt
Jeri's Book Attic Review
Evermore Books Spotlight + Excerpt
One Book Two Review

October 30th
Crystal's Chaotic Confessions Spotlight + Excerpt
Mikky's World Of Books Spotlight + Excerpt
Happily Ever Chapter Spotlight + Excerpt
Kayl's Krazy Obsession Author Interview
Miranda's Book Blog Author Interview

About Troll: 

Title: Troll
Author: Ashley C. Harris
Author Location: FL, United States
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal Fantasy
Release Date: October 6, 2015
Words: 319 pages
Publisher: Kindle Press
Format: Digital eBook

Synopsis:  At the age of sixteen, Abby is undergoing major household changes. Her mom is getting ready to remarry and her new step-brother is driving her insane. She is just trying to keep herself busy with school and her part-time job when a most deliciously handsome stranger moves to her little seaside town and won't leave her alone.
New arrival Wilhelm is unlike any other student at Abby’s school. His emerald eyes and tattooed body don’t truly reveal what he really is: a creature emerged from thousands of miles underground, seeking revenge, treasure, and a key that once belonged to an old enemy – a key Abby wears suspended from a chain around her neck. Why she has it is a mystery that Wilhelm will need to solve, and fast, in order to defeat a powerful mortal adversary.
As an attraction between Abby and Wilhelm develops, more creatures like Wilhelm are drawn from beneath the ground to Abby’s town; wreaking havoc as they offer Abby’s classmates the fulfillment of their deepest desires. Will Abby and her new family survive as a game of magical warfare is unleashed? Her ability to reverse Wilhelm’s bargain depends on it.

Available at Amazon.

Seconds went by and he found nothing, except a distraction. It wasn’t the human’s heartbeat drumming steadily on the second floor that he found unnerving, most likely it was the fact that she was reading a rhyme aloud – that wasn’t a human thing as much as it was a trolls’: “A kiss was made,” he heard her voice whisper, trying to ignore it. “A rose was dropped.” He looked up when she said the word rose. “A heart was snapped in half. The love of your life has left you in a world that’s dark and black.”
He moved toward the sound. Perhaps she was really one of his kind in disguise, here to spy on him.
“Thunder sounds, the sky turns gray, there is nothing recognizable at all. The love of your life has left you in a world that’s sad and small.” The words made him think about Helena, his Helena, kissing Klaus, while he had her fully under his control. It was sickened him and pissed him off.
He crept down the bookcase where a girl was reading from a book out loud, unaware of his presence. She was definitely not a troll, he concluded when he got a good look at her, growing bored. “But then the sun comes out. A rainbow appears. An angel has come to tell you, your hope is stronger than fear.”
“Are you sure that’s what an angel would say?” he asked.
Her blue, puppy-like eyes shot up, her body nearly jumping out of its skin from being startled. “Where did you come from?” she squeaked as she looked around, her heartbeat doubling.
“About five shelves over,” he answered as he looked her up and down. She was a tiny, petite thing compared to himself, with light brown hair and blushed fair skin that made her blue eyes pop. She also had four freckles on one cheek and three on the other. This human was both plain looking but also strangely captivating compared to others in the building.
“Oh, I see, and were you standing there the entire time?” she asked, her free hand going to her hip, as she tried to stand up straighter, trying to seem tall and authoritative. He could see she was irritated at being disturbed, and that was the most entertaining thing of all.
“Yes, is that a problem?” he asked with a smile.
“I’m sorry … I thought you worked here. I was just looking for some help,” he lied. Did she think he wouldn’t notice the fact that she was standing next to a filing cart and wearing a library badge that read: Abigail? That, and the feelings of servitude and obligation that he could smell all over her. 
“Oh, I – I do,” she said, as if this had just occurred to her. She was unable to wipe the annoyance and unease off her face, as she looked down his arm, judging him because of his numerous tattoos. Humans...so sadly sheltered. “How can I help you?”
He didn’t answer. This irritated her more.
“The college used book section is downstairs, and so is the art and tattoo section,” she suggested, trying to guess his reason for pestering her.
“Do I really look old enough to be in college to you?” he asked, half insulted because college years for humans were death years for his kind.
“Yes,” she said honestly as she took in his tall, six-foot-five frame. “You look at least twenty.”
“Nope, time to get your eye’s checked maybe?” he asked, stepping closer, letting her guess his age; this seemed like a game she didn’t want to play.
“Well you’re definitely a least eighteen,” she replied as she turned part of her body away from him, her eyes back to her books; as if being eighteen put him in a different category than her. “You’d have to be to get a tattoo, now is—”
“Or maybe I had really cool parents,” he cut her off. “And I’m seventeen. That was an enchanting poem you read by the way. Who was it by?”
He took another step closer as she took a step back, nearly colliding into a bookshelf. “Amber Paris.” She handed him the book she’d read from and appeared much more comfortable when he was looking at it and not her. He examined it with only partial interest. “She got it published when she was fifteen.” she seemed to know all about the subject.
“Well, that explains why it’s so good, then. People always come up with their best work when they’re young. I bet at twelve her poems were even better.”
Each word he spoke was like a hook, spinning magic to pull her in to him even as she wanted to get away. “Where are you from, exactly?” she asked as she noticed what he was wearing; heavy jeans instead of the more typically Floridian surfer shorts, and a thick dark green shirt that went down to his elbows, only showing off half of his tattoos. Probably weird attire for the hottest months of Florida, but as a troll he craved warmth and hated the cold. “Are you from up north?”
“No, not at all,” he said, offering no other explanation. “So, why read a poem aloud? What about you does it relates to?” he asked with a grin, it was a pretty personal question and yet she’d have to tell him. Soon his powers if he kept talking to her would be able to push Abby to do all sorts of things... for a short time anyway, until a price was paid.
He read over the beginning lines of the poem again. “A kiss was made, a rose was dropped.” The words tripped him up, making him think about Rosabel’s last feelings before she died. Feelings that held a deep meaning for him, letting him know that even though she had never been able to claim him as an inheritor, she still had cared about him more than any other treasure.
His eyes could have almost teared up just thinking about his murdered mother. Trolls could be insanely emotional – good thing for him he was better at shielding how he felt than most. He turned his face away, getting a hold of himself, as the little human rambled, her voice a comforting distraction.
“I don’t think it relates to me. I just write poetry so my teacher asked me to look over another writer’s work.”
“Because maybe you want to be like this writer, famous and well liked?” he stated to test if her interest in the author was shallow, sensing what she didn’t even know was one of her most hidden desires. Humans could be so naive about their own ambitions, but these were easily recognized by trolls. This one clearly had no idea what her body and mind were capable of yearning for.
“No,” she lied, as if insulted. “That’s crazy. I’ve never wanted that; it’s just an assignment.”
“Are you sure?” he asked, as her hidden wants started calling to him – they tasted satisfying too. Her craving for freedom, he could use that to trap her, and then trap all the humans here. He’d have some real fun after a day of anger and sorrow as he played with these fools until they broke.
Leave her alone! a small boy’s voice suddenly screamed into his ear. He turned around, startled, only to find no one behind him.
“Are you okay?” he heard Abby ask him. His face must have looked haunted. That’s when he sensed where the book that he had been searching for was. 
“Yes.” Finding the book and his key were far more important than this girl or having a little fun. He looked back in Abby’s direction, now needing to get rid of her. She looked nervous and still confused by his presence, still not knowing why she was continuing to talk to him. He decided in that moment to show her the kind of mercy and kindness his mother Rosabel should have received. Besides, he really didn’t feel like killing anyone innocent so the knights couldn’t find them later. 
Before she could move, he reached out and gripped her shoulder, sending heat through her body, making her look deep into his eyes. “If you ever see me or anything like me again, anyone that has markings like this…,” he lifted his sleeve so she could take in his entire arm. His tattoos on it came to life and moved hypnotically, numbing her senses and making her go into a trance. “… you probably shouldn’t trust us. You should be smart and stay away from anyone like myself that you ever come in contact with.”
And with those words, he had given her a precious gift he hadn’t given any other human in a very long time. If any more trolls came along she’d stay out of their way now, wanting nothing to do with them. He watched her walk off in a beautiful daze. She’d certainly stay away from him if he changed his mind in the next few moments and decided to pursue her after all. Trolls often did change their minds about most things. He imagined her lips would have tasted pretty good, for a human anyway. Her body would have most likely felt nice …
Please leave her alone! he heard the boy scream again, the voice coming from his head. He was hearing a past memory, one that was too dangerous for him to think about. He ran his fingers along the book spines one more time. They led him right to the familiar texture he had been looking for. To the very storybook a young knight had checked out and carried in his backpack years before Wilhelm had found him.

About Ashley C. Harris

Author and film director Ashley C. Harris resides in Florida. Ashley was first recognized for her edgy writing and unique film work when she wrote and directed the teenage film "Lines". Lines was the first feature film in the world captured using only Mac Laptops. 

In 2013 she teamed up with Barclay Publicity to release the first in a new young adult novel series, "Shock Me". Ashley then went on to author eight other titles, in multiple genres, as she also worked behind-the-scenes on a morning news show that aired on ABC. In 2014, four of Ashley's books landed on the Amazon's Best Selling Top-Ten-List. In 2015, she received her first publishing deal for "Troll", a KindleScout novel winner. 

When Ashley is not dreaming up new manuscripts and working on film sets, she loves spending time with her family, obsessing about biblical mysteries, and watching lots of Doctor Who. Keep an eye out for her newest releases!

Connect with Ashley at: Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads | Tumblr | Instagram

Wednesday, 21 October 2015

Blitz w/ Giveaway On the Fringe by Courtney King Walker

On the Fringe by Courtney King Walker

I'm so excited to be taking part in Courtney King Walker's ON THE FRINGE 4th birthday celebration blitz! Check out the book below, and be sure to enter the amazing giveaway!

On the Fringe by Courtney King Walker

A YA ghost story, where your first embrace could be your last… Claire is struggling to overcome the murder of her childhood friend and secret crush, Daniel. Everyone else seems to be moving on with their lives, but she’s still trying to cope. The fact that she finds herself alone and drowning on her 16th birthday isn’t helping. Neither is thinking she sees Daniel’s face in the murky water as she mysteriously resurfaces. But something happened during those four and a half minutes that will make her realize it was not just her imagination. As Claire and Daniel try to grasp a possible reconnection, other grudge-holding beings have plans of their own. Now, the two of them must decide if their fleeting relationship is worth the possibility of Claire being trapped on the fringe forever. Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Trailer for ON THE FRINGE

On the Fringe by Courtney King Walker
Grab your copy for just 0.99 cents on Amazon, today!

Exciting Announcement!

Courtney King Walker's third novel, CHASING MIDNIGHT, will be published January 12, 2016 by Cedar Fort Publishing... and it's a Cinderella retelling!!


Sixteen-year-old Mackenzie knows life is always better for the lucky ones—the problem is, she’s never been one. But when Mackenzie finally gets her wish, she quickly realizes the royal life isn’t exactly what she had in mind. And her dream prince is nothing close to charming! With running shoes as glass slippers, this modern retelling of Cinderella is an enchanting and entertaining read.

Courtney King Walker

About the Author

Courtney King Walker grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area building rocket ships and rafts out of cardboard, hoping to make it the moon or at least Niagara Falls. But a trip across the border to Tijuana was as exciting as it ever got, so she decided writing about adventure was the next best thing. She now lives in the Rocky Mountains with her husband and four children, and still dreams of flying to the moon. She is the author of the young adult novel, ON THE FRINGE, and middle grade novel MOLLY PEPPER AND THE NIGHT TRAIN. Her next YA novel, CHASING MIDNIGHT, will be published January 12, 2016 by Cedar Fort Publishing & Media.


Winner will receive a signed physical copy of ON THE FRINGE and $20 gift card to Amazon or Barnes & Noble!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, 15 October 2015

Cover Reveal: Warrior Spirit by Jean Carroll (Except & Giveaway)

Today we're excited to share the cover reveal for the revitalized cover of Warrior Spirit, Book 1 of The King of Ireland series by Jean Carroll. The book is also available free for Kindle 10/14-10/18, so grab it quick! 

Book Description:

Irishman Blackie O'Brien led a sinful and self-destructive life of women, alcohol and drugs. He was the best, winningest, champion steeplechase jockey in the history of the sport until a near-fatal racing accident ended his career.

But this was no "accident"- his ruthless ex-agent, Mickey Reegan orchestrated the whole thing. It seems that the luck o' the Irish has deserted Blackie once and for all.

And Blackie is no ordi­nary Irish­man. This lusty young man is the direct descen­dent of Brian Boru, the most influ­en­tial High king of Ire­land. If Ire­land still had a king, Blackie would be it.

Now, Blackie is a man with­out a career and with­out a kingdom.


War­rior Spirit chron­i­cles Blackie’s jour­ney from the green val­leys of Ire­land to the priv­i­leged horse coun­try of Mid­dle­burg, Vir­ginia. As Blackie begins to despair over his future, in enters beau­ti­ful, young Meg, who brings her horses to Blackie’s fam­ily farm where he’s been recu­per­at­ing from the accident.
Their sex­ual chem­istry is immediate.

But Blackie’s fam­ily has other plans for him. They believe he’s dri­ven by the spirit of an ancient Irish war­rior and demand he find a place in Ireland’s polit­i­cal leadership.

From fight­ing off alco­holic temp­ta­tions, thwart­ing an attempted rape of Meg, and stop­ping thugs try­ing to take his life, Blackie leaps over one hur­dle after another. Will Blackie ulti­mately find the future he’s meant to have with the love of a good woman?

About the Author:

The three guys who put up with my writing.
I started writ­ing The King of Ire­land series in 2008 when I had my sec­ond knee replaced. I was immo­bi­lized with ice on my knee for hours dur­ing the day and was, of course, bored to tears. The’King’ story was some­thing I had played with in my head for maybe twenty-five years. Watch­ing one more TV show, I decided to write it down. I wrote long-hand and quickly filled many yel­low legal pads and kept on going. Luck­ily my sister-in-law was a very good typ­ist, so I enlisted her help.

I made a lot of mis­takes at first and along the way learned a great deal about the craft of writ­ing and I’m still learn­ing. I got a moun­tain of advice and help from agents, edi­tors, con­test judges, cri­tique groups and friends. I found quickly that their was some­thing called “word count” and it was frowned upon to have too much of it. So I had to pare my 300K word novel down to where some­body might look at it. Hence I now have a three book, one novella series and might add more if my read­ers get invested in my characters.

Here is the real star of the show-Beauregarde-our 4 year old poodle
I love my char­ac­ters by the way and feel very close to them. I got highly insulted when a friend said Blackie just wasn’t her cup of tea! I have a pas­sion for horses just like my char­ac­ters and have since I was a lit­tle girl and saw my first horse. Our prop­erty backed up to the Gar­ri­son For­est School for Girls in Mary­land and they rode their horses through our woods.

I started rid­ing when I was about eight years old and rode con­sis­tently until in my thir­ties and was lucky enough to have my own horse and pony for ten years. I did a lot of show­ing and did mostly jump­ing. Later I dis­cov­ered dres­sage and became fas­ci­nated with it just like the main char­ac­ters in my book. I retired in 2010 and briefly before that I started rid­ing again and it was glo­ri­ous to be on a horse once more. I’m retired from Johns Hop­kins Uni­ver­sity where I worked for 27 years as an Elec­tron Micro­scopist. The best thing is now I get to write full time and feel very blessed to be able to do so.


Excerpt: THE KISS


They got the horses ready, and led them out of the barn. She was get­ting ready to mount Cloudy when Blackie walked up behind her, leaned into her and whis­pered with his mouth against her ear,

“Would you like a leg up?”

Her heart flipped and she knew she was blush­ing from the huge rush she got. Meg wanted to just turn around in his arms and kiss him but she stuck her leg out and he flipped her into the saddle

“Let’s take a dif­fer­ent trail today.”

“Okay, lead the way.”

He took off at a trot and she fol­lowed. They rode along the edge of a field next to the woods. Meg loved watch­ing him ride he was so good.

Turn­ing into the woods, Blackie slowed to a walk. The peace of the woods sur­rounded them like a bower; the breeze gen­tly wav­ing the branches; the birds singing their love songs.

He reined Sand­man back to ride next to her. Quiet for a few min­utes, he stopped, Meg halted Cloudy and Blackie stared at her. He moved Sand­man over close, leaned in and kissed her gen­tly on the mouth.

His lips were soft as he brushed them like a whis­per over hers. The jolt and rush she got wasn’t exactly soft. She instantly wanted more but he had already kicked Sandy into a dead run.

* * *

Christ, what am I doing?

He jerked the horse away and put him into a gal­lop to cover up his sur­prise and embar­rass­ment. Embar­rassed! He’d never felt that way before, kiss­ing a woman, even when he was a kid. The instant arousal caught him off guard, another rea­son to get out of there before she noticed. He knew her mouth would be that sweet. As he gal­loped off, he licked his lips to savor the taste of her.

* * *

She was star­tled. He’d caught her off guard. It took her a beat to react and then she took off after him.

Oh my God. He just kissed me.

She’d been won­der­ing what it would be like to kiss him, but hadn’t expected it to be that gen­tle or potent. The kiss had plucked her like a harp string all the way to her toes.

$25 Amazon gift card (INT)
Ends Oct. 21
Prizing is provided by the author, hosts are not responsible.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
This event was organized by CBB Book Promotions.

Wednesday, 14 October 2015

Cover Reveal: The joy of Comfort Eating by Suzanne Jeffries.


It’s the worst day of Charlie Everson’s life. Not only can she no longer fit into her clothes—disaster for any public relations director—but also her first love, the sexy super-successful Brian Tendai, is her new CEO, the last person she ever expected to run into. Seeing him again tumbles Charlie back into her past. There are still so many unanswered questions: he’s convinced she left him, she’s convinced he left her. Charlie minimizes the ‘ex’ factor. Tell that to her emotions that are running wild. 

But Brian’s not there to rekindle their romance. He’s overseeing Queenswood Communications’ recent merger after a hostile takeover. Guess whose name is at the top of the list?

They agree to one night together, just the one, then it’s back to business as normal. Or is it?

The Joy of Comfort Eating is a contemporary romance novel set in cosmopolitan Johannesburg. 


Suzanne Jefferies loves to write contemporary romance and paranormal fiction. She believes in happily-ever-afters, in fiction. As a member of ROSA (Romance Writers of South Africa), she knows that she’s not the only believer in romantic tension and emotional power smacks to keep the romance reader hooked. A movie fanatic, she spends most of her time writing scripts, fielding production for short films, and trying again. Working in communication, she has done more than her fair share of corporate and investor PR, and now lectures in between editorial jobs for big, glossy company magazines. The Joy of Comfort Eating is her first contemporary romance novel.

Twitter: @suzannjefferies

Tuesday, 13 October 2015

Book Blitz: The Summer Marked by Rebekah L. Purdy (Excerpt, Guest post & Giveaway)

The Summer Marked by Rebekah L. Purdy 
(The Winter People #2) 
Published by: Entangled: Teen
Publication date: September 22nd 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult


The sequel to the chilling Winter People returns to the world of Faerie, and is a romantic and enchanting follow-up.
Salome left humankind behind to be with her boyfriend, Gareth, in the Kingdom of Summer. But now forces of darkness are rising. Her happily-ever-after is coming apart, and the Kingdom is on the brink of war.
Newly-single Kadie Byers is on her way home for Thanksgiving, imagining a visit filled with hot chocolate, a hot guy for a little rebound action, and some girl time with her bestie, Salome. Except she receives a message from Salome with two important words: PLEASE HURRY.
When Kadie rushes to help Salome, she’s ripped from the human world and pulled into the kingdoms of Faerie, where she’s shocked to learn that Salome’s monsters are real, and that she’s now at the mercy of one extremely vengeful Winter Queen…
Now both Salome and Kadie must find a way to survive the deadly chaos…or lose themselves to Winter’s deadly, icy grasp.



Bubbles and foam rose from the river floor as if there was an eruption below. Water sprayed my left cheek. A gurgled snort sounded beside us as a great black horse rose from the depths, river-weed tangled in its mane. This was no ordinary horse. It was a Kelpie. It turned to face me, eyes blazing like hot coals. The beast’s lips peeled back to reveal blood covered teeth. Crap. If I could reach the saddlebags, then maybe I could pull out the sword Gareth had gotten for me. I leaned to the side, reaching for the buckles. Moving at this pace and bouncing around, I couldn’t get hold of it.

Come on. 

Adaba jerked to the side in an attempt to get to the shore. But it was too late. In one swift movement, the Kelpie latched onto my arm.

“No!” Pain shot through me like a bullet. I fought to stay in the saddle. My horse kicked out his hind legs, catching the Kelpie in the side. Still the creature wouldn’t release me. 
Instead, it tugged harder ripping me halfway off my saddle. My knees tightened around Adaba’s sides, my fingers loosened as water slickened what grip I had. The Kelpie’s teeth sunk deeper into my arm. My hands slipped; my hold lost. Horror washed over me when I plunged into the dark, icy depths of the river. The coldness stung my skin. The creature dragged me deeper, and I kicked my legs, thrashing to free myself from it. Above me, all I saw were the distorted images of the sky as it faded from sight.

Guest Post:

Writing From Two POVS (Point of View):

I had a blast writing The Summer Marked (book two in the Winter People series), but mostly because I got to create the story from two different characters’ points of view. Kadie and Salome are SUCH different people. Kadie is more bad ass and hardcore, where Salome, who can be tough if she needs to, is a more “soft” kind of character. She kind of wears her heart on her sleeve and cares SO much about people. So it was nice being able to see how each character reacted to their environments.

But these two girls are both in very different types of places within Faerie. Kadie has been dropped right into something out of a horror flick or a fairytale gone wrong. Winter is filled with so much darkness, violence, and nightmarish stuff—a very macabre place. It was tough to write Kadie’s character, because we see how all this evilness is starting to break her down. She’s struggling to remain strong and protect her friend at all costs. But her whole situation seems helpless. It’s like every ray of hope that she has just keeps getting sucked away.

Salome, on the other hand is in Summer. When I was creating Summer all that kept popping into my head was something out of Tolkien novel, kind of like Rivendell. Summer is a HUGE contrast from Winter. It’s beautiful, with fountains, waterfalls, flowers, trees, castles etc. But underneath all the beauty there is a danger for Salome as well—and she learns quickly that not everything that’s “pretty” is nice. She has her own battles to fight, especially since not all the Fae like humans. She trying to find her place in a world where she really doesn’t totally belong or fit into. I had a different kind of fun writing her character. I liked showing her contrast from Kadie. How she had her own “horrors” and political issues she was dealing with. But also showing her grow more of a backbone and into her own so to speak.

The great thing about duo povs is being able to give the reader a bigger look at the setting and characters your writing about. To give them an idea of things outside just the main protagonist’s thoughts. I seriously love this book and hope the readers do as well.


Rebekah was born and raised in Michigan where she spent many late nights armed with a good book and a flashlight. She’s lived in Michigan most of her life other than the few years she spent in the U.S. Army. At which time she got a chance to experience Missouri, Kansas, South Carolina, and California. Rebekah has a business degree from University of Phoenix and currently works full time for the court system. In her free time she writes YA stories, anything from YA Fantasy to YA Contemporary Romance. Rebekah also has a big family (6 kids) she likes to consider her family as the modern day Brady Bunch complete with crazy road trips and game nights. When not hiding at her computer, Rebekah enjoys reading, singing, soccer, swimming, football, camping, playing video games, traveling, and hanging out with her family and gazillion pets.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, 12 October 2015

Release Blitz: Touching Fate by Brenda Drake

Touching Fate by Brenda Drake

I'm so excited to take part in Brenda Drake's Release Day Launch for TOUCHING FATE! Check out the book and excerpt below, and be sure to enter the amazing giveaway!

Touching Fate by Brenda Drake

Aster Layne believes in physics, not psychics. A tarot card reading on the Ocean City Boardwalk should have been a ridiculous, just-for-fun thing. It wasn’t. Aster discovers she has a very unscientific gift—with a simple touch of the cards, she can change a person’s fate. Reese Van Buren is cursed. Like the kind of old-school, centuries-old curse that runs in royal families. Every firstborn son is doomed to die on his eighteenth birthday—and Reese’s is coming up fast. Bummer. He tries to distract himself from his inevitable death…only to find the one person who can save him. Aster doesn’t know that the hot Dutch guy she’s just met needs her help–or that he’s about to die. But worst of all…she doesn’t know that her new gift comes with dark, dark consequences that can harm everyone she loves. Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Excerpt from TOUCHING FATE

The spell was broken when some partiers ran up the beach screaming and laughing. Aster turned in the direction of the noise and spotted Reese standing there. He waved. A moronic move, he reprimanded himself. Strolling up the beach James Bond-style would have been better, but instead, struggling in the sand, he headed for her. He decided if she moved toward him as well, it would be proof that she was attracted to him. Aster spun around and faced the ocean again. Reese stopped. She was still angry with him. Just when he made up his mind to leave her alone, she started down the beach toward him. “Hi,” she said, staring up at him. The golden specks in her eyes were like stardust glinting in the low-lying sun. “What are you doing here?” “Leah invited Jan, and he brought me along.” “I see.” “Well, I didn’t put up a struggle. I have to admit, I was hoping to see you.” He held out the aster. “This is for you. A peace offering. One simple flower can mean so much more than a bunch, don’t you agree?” A shocked expression crossed her face, and Reese thought he had blown it. But then she gave him a sweet smile and took the flower from him. “Stolen ones are even better.” “Well, in all honesty, it was a spur-of-the-moment decision. A gentleman doesn’t court a lady without bringing a gift.” “So you’re courting me?” She tried unsuccessfully not to smile. It was rather fetching, her pink glossed lips twitching at the effort. “You don’t even know anything about me.” “Well, that is the point of dating, isn’t it? To get to know each other?” “I’m not sure.” When the silence between them got uncomfortable, she lowered her head and picked at the stem of the flower. “Not sure, huh?” This girl was a hard nut to crack. Reese got an idea. “How about we play a game?” She looked back up at him. “What kind of game?” “One where I tell you something about me, then you tell me something about yourself.” “Sure, why not?” She twirled around and padded across the beach, lifting up sand with her toes and flicking it into the air in front of her. “You go first.” “All right, then,” he said, keeping pace with her. “My family lives in a castle just outside of Amsterdam, complete with towers and turrets. It’s been in the family for generations. We only live in a few rooms. The rest of the place is open for tours. It helps pay for the upkeep and taxes.” “Really?” She knotted her fingers behind her back. “Does that mean you’re royal?” “No. But my father is a count.” He hated talking about his lineage. “It’s just a title,” he said, as if it wasn’t a big deal, which it wasn’t, at least to him. “That’s pretty awesome,” she said. “Now you.”
Brenda Drake

About the Author

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram
Brenda Drake grew up the youngest of three children, an Air Force brat, and the continual new kid at school. Her fondest memories growing up are of her eccentric, Irish grandmother’s animated tales, which gave her a strong love for storytelling. So it was only fitting that she would choose to write stories with a bend toward the fantastical. When she’s not writing or hanging out with her family, she haunts libraries, bookstores, and coffee shops, or reads someplace quiet and not at all exotic (much to her disappointment).


Giveaway is 3 winners of …
Grand Prize of the Kindle + Swag Pack (US/Canada) $50 Amazon Gift Card (INT) $50 Amazon Gift Card (US/Canada)
a Rafflecopter giveaway